share this

COVID-19 Update
Planning for fall 2020
Share This Search
Student Life

Student Life . Student Services . Registrar . Academic Calendar 

 

Academic Calendar

Fall 2020: August 17–December 5

All dates are subject to change due to COVID-19 

August 7–12, Friday-Wednesday New student move-in.
August 7–16, Friday-Sunday Upperclass student move-in.
August 10–14, Monday-Friday Tuition payment arrangements due in order to begin fall classes.
August 13–15, Thursday-Saturday New student orientation. 
*August 17, Monday* Fall 2020 semester begins.
August 17–21, Monday-Friday Course add/drop period AND $350 Late Registration fee assessed.
September 7, Monday Labor Day. CIA holiday. No classes. Building closed. Residence halls remain open. 
September 11, Friday Grade revisions due for Spring 2020 incomplete grades.
September 16, Wednesday Spring 2021 course schedule information due to Academic Affairs & the Registrar's Office.
September 18, Friday Course proposals for new fall 2021 courses due to Curriculum Committee. 
September 29, Tuesday  Course evaluations open for Tuesday-Friday 7-week courses.
October 5, Monday Course evaluations open for Monday 7-week courses.
October 9, Friday Mid-term grades due.
October 19, Monday  Advising for spring 2021 course scheduling begins.
October 23, Friday  Last day to withdraw from a course for the fall 2020 semester without grade penalty.
October 26, Monday Online registration opens to seniors for spring 2021 course scheduling. 
November 7, Saturday Contingency make-up day for school closing.
November 16, Monday Course evaluations open for Liberal Art courses.
November 20, Friday Last day of regular classes, Studio and Liberal Arts.
November 21, Saturday Course evaluations open for Studio courses.
November 21–24, Saturday-Tuesday Final Studio Critiques. Schedule to be determined.
November 25, Wednesday Offices open. Residence halls close at 6pm except for students who have been approved to stay.
November 26–27, Thursday & Friday Thanksgiving. CIA holiday. Building closed. Residence halls remain open. 
November 30–December 4, Monday-Friday Online Liberal Arts exams, online mid-year critiques for May 2021 grads and online BFA exams for Dec 2020 grads.
*December 5, Saturday* Fall semester ends. Holiday recess begins. Residence halls close at noon for students who had been approved to remain until the end of the semester. 
December 7, Monday @ 9 am Final grades due for all students by 9 am. 
December 23–January 3, Wednesday-Sunday CIA winter break. Building closed.

 

Spring 2021: January 18–May 8

All dates are subject to change due to COVID-19

January 11–15, Monday-Friday Tuition payment arrangements due in order to begin spring classes.
January 11–17, Monday-Sunday COVID testing week (Tentative)
January 14–17, Thursday-Sunday Returning students move into residence halls, beginning at 8am.
January 18, Monday Martin Luther King Day. CIA holiday.  No classes.  Building closed. Residence halls remain open. 
*January 19, Tuesday* First day of classes for spring 2021 semester.
January 19–25, Tuesday-Monday Course add/drop period AND $350 Late Registration fee assessed.
February 12, Friday Course proposals for new spring 2022 courses due to the Curriculum Committee.
February 12, Friday Grade revisions due for Fall 2020 incomplete grades.
February 13, Saturday Contingency make-up day for school closing.
February 15, Monday Fall 2021 course schedule information due to Academic Affairs & Registrar's Office.
March 12, Friday  Mid-term grades due.
March 15, Monday Advising for fall 2021 course scheduling begins.
March 20, Saturday Contingency make-up day for school closing.
March 22, Monday Online registration opens to juniors for fall 2021 course scheduling.
March 26, Friday Last day to withdraw from a course for the spring 2021 semester without a grade penalty.
April 19, Monday Course evaluations go live for Liberal Arts courses.
April 24, Saturday Last day of regular classes, Studio and Liberal Arts.
April 26, Monday Course evaluations go live for Studio courses.
April 26–30, Monday-Friday Academic exam/Studio critique week.  Schedule to be determined.
May 3–7, Monday-Friday BFA Reviews & Exhibitions
*May 8, Saturday* Spring semester ends. Residence halls close at noon.
May 10, Monday by 9am Final grades due for graduating students by 9am.
May 13, Thursday Commencement rehearsal
May 14, Friday Commencement 
May 17, Monday by 9am Final grades due by 9am for all students AND final studio clean out.
May 31, Monday Memorial Day.  CIA holiday.  Building closed. 
June 18, Friday Juneteenth (Observed). CIA holiday. Building closed.
July 5, Monday Independence Day (Observed).  CIA holiday. Building closed.