share this

Apply Now
Get started here.
Share This Search
Student Life

Student Life . Student Services . Registrar . Academic Calendar 

 

Academic Calendar

Fall 2019 

August 20–24 In-person tuition payment/registration for fall semester.
August 21, Wednesday New student move-in.
August 22 & 23, Thursday & Friday New student orientation.
August 23–25, Thursday–Sunday Upperclass student move-in.
**August 26, Monday** Fall semester begins.
August 26–30 Course drop-add period. Schedule changes.
Late registration. Late fee of $350 assessed.
September 2, Monday Labor Day. College holiday. NO CLASSES. Buildings closed. Residence halls remain open.
September 20, Friday Last day for Spring 2019 Incomplete grade revisions.
Course proposals for new spring courses due to Curriculum Committee.
October 7, Monday Course evaluations go live for 7-week courses.
October 7, Monday Spring 2020 course schedule information due to Academic Affairs and Registrar's Office.
October 15, Tuesday Major Application Presentations Day for first-year students.
October 18, Friday Mid-term grades due.
October 18–22 CWRU dining halls close after lunch on Fri Oct 18. Reopens for dinner Tue Oct 22. College classes remain in session.
November 1, Friday Last day to withdraw from a Fall 2019 course.
November 4–8 Advising for Spring 2020 course pre-scheduling.
November 11, Monday Spring 2020 online pre-scheduling opens to seniors.
November 16, Saturday Contingency make-up day for school closing.
November 21, Thursday Course evaluations go live for full-semester courses.
November 27, Wednesday NO CLASSES. Offices open.
November 28 & 29, Thursday & Friday Thanksgiving recess. College holiday. NO CLASSES. Buildings closed. Residence halls remain open.
December 2–6 Liberal arts exams/mid-year critiques for BFA candidates. Schedule to be determined.
December 9–13 Final studio critiques.
**December 14, Saturday** Fall semester ends. Residence hall closes. Student winter break begins.
December 16, Monday, 9am Final grades for weekday classes due.
December 23–January 1 Winter break. Buildings closed. Residence halls closed.

 

Spring 2020

January 2–18 Course drop-add period. Schedule changes.
January 6–10 In-person tuition payment/registration for Spring semester.
January 11, Saturday Returning students move into residence hall, beginning at 8am.
**January 13, Monday** Spring Semester begins.
January 13–17 Late registration. $350 late fee assessed.
January 20, Monday Martin Luther King Day. College holiday. No classes. Buildings closed.
February 7, Friday Last day for Fall 2019 Incomplete grade revisions. 
February 7, Friday Course proposals for new fall courses due to Curriculum Committee.
February 15, Saturday Contingency make-up day for school closings.
February 24, Monday Course evaluations go live for 7-week courses.
February 24, Monday Fall 2020 course schedule information due to Academic Affairs and Registrar's Office.
March 6, Friday Mid-term grades due.
March 9–13, Monday–Friday Spring break. NO CLASSES. Offices open. Residence halls remain open.
March 16–20, Monday–Friday Portfolio Review Week for Major Application.
March 21, Saturday Contingency make-up day for school closing.
March 27, Friday Last day to withdraw from a Spring 2020 course.
March 30–April 3, Monday–Friday Advising for Fall 2020 course pre-scheduling.
April 6, Monday Fall 2020 online pre-scheduling opens to juniors.
April 20, Monday Course evaluations go live for full-semester courses.
April 24, Friday Last day of regular classes, studio, and liberal arts.
April 27–May 1, Monday–Friday Academic exam/studio critique week. Schedule to be determined.
May 4–8, Monday–Friday BFA reviews and exhibitions.
May 9, Saturday, noon Final grades due for graduating students.
**May 9, Saturday** Spring semester ends. Residence halls close for summer.
May 14, Thursday Commencement rehearsal.
May 15, Friday Commencement
May 15, Friday Final grades for all students due.
May 18, Monday Final studio clean out.
May 25, Monday Memorial Day. College holiday. Building closed.
July 3, Friday Independence Day. College holiday. Building closed.