share this

Share This Search
Cinematheque

Registrar . 2023-24 Academic Calendar 

2023-24 Academic Calendar

Fall 2023August 23-December 16
July 17, Monday Tuition payment arrangements due in order to begin Fall classes. $275 late payment fee assessed. Students dropped from classes for non-payment.
August 16-18, Wednesday-Friday International student orientation
August 18, Friday First year student move-in
August 19-22, Saturday-Tuesday New student orientation
August 20-22, Sunday-Tuesday Upper-class student move-in
*August 23, Wednesday* First day of classes for Fall 2023 semester.
August 23–29, Wednesday-Tuesday Course add/drop period
September 4, Monday Labor Day. CIA holiday. No classes. Building closed. Residence halls remain open. 
September 15, Friday Grade revisions due for Spring 2023 incomplete grades.
September 22, Friday Spring 2024 course schedule revisions due to Academic Affairs and the Registrar's Office.
October 4, Wednesday Advising for Spring 2024 course scheduling begins.
October 16, Monday Fall 2024 and Spring 2025 course schedule information due to Academic Affairs and the Registrar's Office.
October 18, Wednesday Mid-term grades due
October 23-24, Monday–Tuesday Student Fall Break. No classes. Faculty In-Service Days. Offices remain open. Residence Halls remain open. Leutner Dining Commons open only for dinner; CaseCash continues to be available. Building remains open.
October 24, Tuesday Faculty Teaching + Learning Summit
October 27, Friday  Last day to withdraw from a course for the Fall 2023 semester without grade penalty.
October 30, Monday Registration opens to seniors for Spring 2024 course scheduling.
November 2, Thursday Registration opens to juniors for Spring 2024 course scheduling.
November 6, Monday Registration opens to sophomores for Spring 2024 course scheduling.
November 22–24, Wednesday–Friday Thanksgiving. CIA holiday. No classes. Building closed. Residence halls remain open. 
November 27, Monday Course evaluations open for Liberal Arts and Studio classes.
December 5, Tuesday Last day of regular classes for Liberal Arts and Studio courses.
December 6–8, Wednesday–Friday Mid-year critiques for May 2024 grads and BFA Reviews + Exhibitions for Dec 2023 grads.
December 11–15, Monday–Friday Exams for Liberal Arts courses and final critiques for Studio courses
December 15, Friday Tuition payment arrangements due in order to begin Spring 2024 classes. $350 late payment fee assessed. Students dropped for non-payment.
 *December 16, Saturday* Fall semester ends. Residence halls close at 5pm.
December 18, Monday @ 9 am Final grades due for all students by 9am. 
December 22–January 3 CIA winter break. Building closed.

 

Spring 2024January 16 - May 11
December 15, Friday Tuition payment arrangements due for all students in order to begin Spring classes. $350 late payment fee assessed. Students dropped from classes for non-payment.
January 13–14, Saturday–Sunday Returning students move into residence halls.
January 15, Monday Martin Luther King Day. CIA holiday. No classes. Building closed. Residence halls remain open. 
*January 16, Tuesday* First day of classes for the Spring 2024 semester
January 16–22, Tuesday-Monday Course add/drop period
February 9, Friday Grade revisions due for Fall 2023 incomplete grades.
February 16, Friday Fall 2024 course schedule revisions due to Academic Affairs and Registrar's Office.
February 26, Monday Advising for Fall 2024 course scheduling begins.
March 8, Friday  Mid-term grades due.
March 11-15, Monday-Friday Spring Break. No classes. Offices open. Residence halls remain open.
March 29, Friday Last day to withdraw from a course for the Spring 2024 semester without grade penalty.
April 1, Monday Registration opens to continuing seniors and current juniors for Fall 2024 course scheduling.
April 4, Thursday Registration opens to current sophomores for Fall 2024 course scheduling.
April 8, Monday Registration opens to current first years for Fall 2024 course scheduling.
April 22, Monday Course evaluations go live for Liberal Arts and Studio courses.
April 27, Saturday Last day of regular classes for Liberal Arts and Studio courses.
Apr 29–May 4, Monday–Friday Exams for Liberal Arts courses and Final critiques for studio courses.
May 6–10, Monday–Friday BFA Reviews + Exhibitions
*May 11, Saturday* Spring semester ends. Residence halls close at noon.
May 13, Monday by 9am Final grades due for all students by 9am.
May 16, Thursday Commencement rehearsal. Details TBA.
May 19, Sunday Commencement. Time/Location TBA.
May 20, Monday Final studio clean out.
May 27, Monday Memorial Day.  CIA holiday.  Building closed. 
June 19, Wednesday Juneteenth. CIA holiday. Building closed.
July 4, Thursday Independence Day. CIA holiday. Building closed.   

 

Approved 1/31/2023 | View PDF of 2023-24 Academic Calendar

All dates subject to change.