share this

Apply Now
Get started here.
Share This Search

News . Feature Stories . Three faculty, seven alumni recognized with Ohio excellence awards


April 27, 2015

Three faculty, seven alumni recognized with Ohio excellence awards

Three CIA faculty members and at least seven alumni have been recognized with Individual Excellence Awards from the Ohio Arts Council (OAC).

Receiving awards are alumni Ann Kmieck ’83, Judith Brandon ’87, Kristen Cliffel ’90, Timothy Callaghan ’99, Timothy Gaewsky ’01, Jason Milburn ’03, and Scott Goss ’06; and faculty members Sarah Kabot (above), assistant professor and chair of the Drawing Department; Amy Sinbondit, technical specialist and adjunct faculty member in the Ceramics Department; and Sai Sinbondit, adjunct faculty member in the Foundation Department.

“These Ohio Arts Council awards represent important validation of the excellent work our alumni and faculty are producing,” said Chris Whittey, CIA’s vice president of faculty affairs + chief academic officer. “As publicly funded grants, they also represent recognition that these artists and designers are important contributors to Ohio’s culture and economy.”

The OAC provides Individual Excellence Awards in recognition of “the exceptional merit of a completed body of work.” The awards, of $5,000 each, “give the artists who receive them the time and resources to experiment, explore and reflect as they develop their skills and advance their art form,” according to the arts council.

Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn YouTube

Social Feed

Fueling up for today's final Pre-College classes and exhibition. Congrats to all the students who made such great work during your two weeks here! We'll see some of you next week when a new session begins. 🎉

about 22 hours ago via Twitter


For more information about this or other CIA news, contact us here.