share this

Apply Now
Get started here.
Share This Search

Alumni . 2019 Alumni Exhibition 

2019 Alumni Exhibition

The Cleveland Institute of Art and the CIA Alumni Council present the 2019 Alumni Exhibition titled There's no basement at the Alamo, curated by Courtenay Finn, moCa Cleveland Chief Curator and CIA alumna. This event is a community-building tradition for alumni that highlights art and design excellence and provides alums an opportunity to reconnect. The show will open 5–8pm July 12 and run through August 16 in the Reinberger Gallery.

Typographic and abstract Alumni Exhibition postcard

Meet the Juror

The juror for this year’s show is Courtenay Finn, a 2005 CIA grad and the chief curator at moCa Cleveland. Before joining moCa, she was the senior curator at the Aspen Art Museum in Aspen, Colorado, where she curated the group exhibitions Lost Without Your Rhythm (2018), Gravity & Grace (2017), The Revolution Will Not Be Gray (2016-17), A Fragile But Marvelous Life (2015-16), Stories We Tell Ourselves (2015-16), The Blue of Distance (2015), and The Future Yesterday (2014-15), alongside solo presentations by Margaret Kilgallen (2019), Zoe Crosher (2018), Haris Epaminonda (2017), Mickalene Thomas (2016), Anna Sew Hoy (2015-16) and Alice Channer (2014-15).

Exhibiting Artists

The exhibition will feature works by the following artists: Rebecca Aloisio, Susan Breitsch, David Buttram, Allen Camp, Leslye Discont Arian, Bonnie Dolin, Michelle Droll, Kimberly Engel, Molly Fitzpatrick, Joseph Fruce, John Hrehov, Kate Kisicki, Karolena Kuhn, Melinda Lasczynski, Gregory Macek, James Meeks, Nicholas Moenich, Jenniffer Omaitz, Kiara Pelissier, Loraine Ruetz, Simone Schiffmacher, Elinore Schnurr, Petra Soesemann, Thomas Spoerndle, and Amy Vidra.

Opening Reception

The opening reception for the 2019 Alumni Exhibition will take place 5–8pm Friday, July 12 at the Cleveland Institute of Art, 11610 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, Ohio.

Exhibition Hours

Monday–Thursday: 10am–5pm
Friday: 10am–2:30pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

For more information:

Alyssa Cady
Director of Annual Giving & Stewardship
216.421.7957 | Contact

- OR -

Lauralee Hutson ’01

- OR -

Leslye Arian ’76

- OR -

Kimberly Chapman '17

- OR - 

Deborah Pinter '88

- OR -

Lois Girbino '86